So I went to the store this morning, tired of all the restaurant food and with autumn in my bones. I bought a couple of roasting chickens and some rosemary and headed home.  The heat’s not on yet in the apartment so it was the perfect time to set the oven and let it warm up the place. It was also a great way to stay busy as the afternoon loomed.

I made this.

IMG_5831
Roast chicken with garlic and rosemary, coated with housemade chili-rosemary oil and seasoned to perfection.

I tried not to think about what I was planning to do this afternoon.

Instead, I did some laundry, discovered I had left a bunch of clothes in a drawer in my hotel last week, and made this:

IMG_5830
Chili-rosemary-garlic chicken stock. Ready for souping.

Instead of getting myself together and heading out to the thing I was planning to do today, I went to BMC with the writer Jeffrey Solmundson and ate this:

IMG_5827
Chicken tinga tacos with homemade tortillas and pico.

Which is all quite fitting, really, because instead of going to the Common Crow Improv Drop-In do to improv for the first time ever, I was this:

CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN
CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN
CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN CHICKEN
Leave a Reply

